Big payday for Macri | News, Sports, Jobs – The Sentinel – Lewistown Sentinel

Sep 12, 2022
Sentinel photo by MIKE GOSS
Anthony Macri celebrates in victory lane after coming from the 19th starting position to win the Tuscarora 50 and its $60,000 purse Saturday at Port Royal Speedway.
PORT ROYAL – Lining up 19th in the Tuscarora 50, Anthony Macri knew he had his work cut out for him if he was going to take home the $60,000 top prize at the end of 50 laps.
A heat race incident on the backstretch after contact with Brian Brown left Macri with a damaged race car. His crew made repairs and thanks to his Thursday night win, Macri was locked into the main event in the 19th starting spot.
He knew he had to pass cars. He also knew he had to have enough left for the second half (teams were allowed to change tires at the break with 20 laps completed).
The 23-year-old from Dillsburg did all of that and more as he raced by Danny Dietrich with 10 laps to go, and streaked away from there scoring the biggest win of his career.
“I didn’t think it was going to be feasible,” Macri said. “I never gave up and my guys didn’t either.”
The base pay was $60,000 thanks to a $5,000 addition from Jim and Sandy Kline and J&S Classics. He also earned $550 for Hard Charger, $1,200 for setting quick time, plus lap money.
Overall, it was Macri’s nation-leading 20th win of the season and eighth at Port Royal.
“I drove as hard as I could the first 20 to get as many positions as I could,” Macri said. “The second 30, it was a little too tight, and I didn’t feel like we were going to go anywhere. I was waiting for the fuel load to burn off and different circumstances to come about for us to get better.”
Macri and seven-time Tuscarora 50 Champion Lance Dewease shared Row 10.
“I knew it was important to keep him behind me because he’s probably the smartest one in the pit area as far as driving and being able to take people’s air away and just smart overall. I knew I had to be very careful on the restarts. The second 30 was wide-open and don’t save anything.”
Then came an open red during the cleanup of a nasty turn four crash involving Dylan Cisney and Freddie Rahmer, in which Cisney had to be rescued from his car. Cisney was helped out by Logan Wagner and Danny Dietrich. He was treated at the scene but avoided any serious injury; Rahmer was OK — but both were done for the night.
Macri called it both unfortunate and fortunate at the same time.
“After that, the car was perfect. It was one of the best cars I’ve ever had here,” Macri said. “I got into second and kept driving harder and harder. I knew I had one chance to get Logan.”
“I can’t thank Charlie Garrett enough, his motors are unreal,” Macri said. “As slick as this track was, we didn’t have to take any power out at all. I’ve never had a motor like his throttle like it does in the slick.”
Dietrich started second and grabbed the lead from polesitter Cale Thomas as they raced off turn two on the opening lap.
Macri cracked the top 10 in only 10 laps as Dietrich led Thomas, Brent Marks and 10th starter Gerard McIntyre Jr. who had charged through the field.
The cars were stopped for 10 minutes with 20 laps completed. Crews were permitted to make any changes they wanted. Dietrich led Marks and McIntyre. Macri restarted seventh.
It was Wagner, the defending race winner, moving on the restart right through the middle groove. He passed McIntyre and then Marks.
Wagner went after Dietrich as they battled for the lead. With 23 to go, Wagner grabbed the lead. Two laps later the fiery crash stopped the race. The extensive cleanup took about 30 minutes.
Wagner led them back to green with 21 laps left. Marks took second from Dietrich on the restart and then Dietrich returned the pass. Macri took fifth from Justin Whittall and then fourth from McIntyre with 15 to go.
“I pulled the wing back and really started driving hard,” Macri said. “I wasn’t worried about tires or anything and really started pushing the issue.”
A pass of Marks in turn four earned Macri third. Macri and Dietrich raced hard for the runner-up spot for a few laps before Marci secured the pass.
Tyler Reeser blew a tire bringing out the yellow with 10 laps left. Macri made the pass a lap following the restart and checked-out from there winning by 3.5 seconds.
Marks earned $15,000 for second and Dietrich $10,000 for third.
“I’m not a big fan of races where we have to have a pit stop,” Marks said. “My thinking is if we don’t come out of the pits good, then we’re not good. We were really good the first half. We didn’t make very good calls during the break and the red flag. We weren’t good enough to win that race.”
“We had a good car all week,” Dietrich said. “Anthony is in a league of his own when the track gets like it is right now. Me and Brent were about the same speed. I got a little too tight on that restart and he was able to blow my doors off down the backstretch. It was a good weekend.”
Whittall finished fourth and Wagner, who clinched a record fifth straight track championship, faded to fifth.
“I got tight getting into the corners,” Wagner said. “I couldn’t pick up my throttle in the apex where I needed to.”
Lance Dewease, Brian Brown, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Cale Thomas and Bill Balog rounded out the top 10.
Macri’s quick time was 15.774 seconds. Wagner was fastest in Group 2 at 15.882 seconds. Balog, Thomas, Marks, Rico Abreu, Gio Scelzi and Dietrich won the heat races. Cisney won the B-main.
Sye Lynch used a late-race pass of Jeff Halligan to win the non-qualifiers race. He earned $2,000. Lynch is guaranteed a starting spot in next year’s race. Halligan, Landon Myers, Chris Windom and Michael Walter completed the top five. Ryan Smith, Zach Hampton, T.J. Stutts, Steve Buckwalter, and Kyle Reinhardt rounded out the top 10.
Tuscarora 50 (50 laps)
1. Anthony Macri. 2. Brent Marks. 3. Danny Dietrich. 4. Justin Whittall. 5. Logan Wagner. 6. Lance Dewease. 7. Brian Brown. 8. Gerard McIntyre Jr. 9. Cale Thomas. 10. Bill Balog. 11. Tyler Courtney. 12. Justin Peck. 13. Rico Abreu. 14. Mike Wagner. 15. Blane Heimbach. 16. Gio Scelzi. 17. Kyle Moody. 18. Ayrton Gennetten. 19. Kasey Kahne. 20. Lucas Wolfe. 21. Tyler Reeser. 22. Chase Dietz. 23. Freddie Rahmer. 24. Dylan Cisney. 25. Zeb Wise. 26. Cory Eliason.
Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox
From staff reports LEWISTOWN — Mifflin County edged Cumberland Valley 2-1 in Mid-Penn Conference field hockey …
From staff reports ALEXANDRIA — Mount Union boys brought the heat against Juniata Valley and Southern Huntingdon …
Juniata picks up first win MIFFLINTOWN — Juniata collected its first win of the season behind strong offensive …
Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox

Copyright © The Sentinel | | 352 Sixth Street, Lewistown, PA 17044 | 717-248-6741


Leave a Comment