Karnataka Rains: Holiday declared till August 15 for schools and colleges in these districts – Times Now

Karnataka Rains Update: Following the continued deluge in the state, schools and colleges in various districts of Karnataka have been ordered shut. A holiday has been declared in all the educational institutions in the districts of Dakshina Kannada, Uttar Kannada, Raichur, Bagalkot, Belagavi, Chikkodi, Shivamogga, Bidar, Haveri, Kodagu, Koppal, Yadgir, Kalaburgi, Dharwad, Ballari, Hassan, Udupi, Gadag. All schools and colleges – both government and private would remain closed in these districts till August 15.
Rains continued to play spoilt sport in the state as conditions took a turn for the wose. Independent reports of houses collapsing in various parts of the districts were received. Special helplines have been set across the state to help with the flood-like situations. The on-going crisis at Kolhapur and the continued flooding of the Pune – Bangalore highway have further made conditions worse.
Keeping in mind the forecasts for the upcoming week, the state government has announced holiday for all schools and colleges for the districts mentioned above. All the others in adjoining districts are advised to exercise caution. Outflow from the reservoirs of Cauvery and Kabini have further added to the woes. Mangaluru and Kerala routes have also been blocked due to landslides.
About 90 people have been evacuated from Kodagu district in Karnataka. National and State Disaster Relief Forces are continuing with the rescue efforts. To further ensure all possible facilities, leaves of all the doctors in the state have been cancelled.
Get latest news and live updates, Latest Education News, updates from Education Minister, CBSE News and other Board Results


Leave a Comment